2024 Annual Meeting

Celebrating 2023. Looking Forward to 2024.

We look forward to gathering together to celebrate all that was accomplished in 2023 at our 2024 Annual Meeting. In addition, at this year's Annual Meeting, we're giving back to New Foundations Children's Home. Join us by bringing items to support this non-profit in Anderson. View a full list of items needed.

View the Annual Report

middle graphic
annual members meeting

meeting icon

The 89th Annual Members Meeting will be held on Tuesday, April 16, 2024.


Light Refreshments
6:00pm - 6:30pm
Members Meeting
6:30pm - 7:30pm


Hilton Garden Inn (Anderson)

115 Destination Blvd. | Anderson, SC 29621


Nominations for Board of Directors

Spero Financial bylaws provide for two methods of nominations to vacancies on the Board of Directors: (1) Governance (Nominating) Committee and (2) Petition. A mail ballot will be provided if there are more nominees than vacancies.

Governing Committee

The Governance (Nominating) Committee is required to submit at least one candidate for each vacancy on the Board. The Committee considers each candidate’s education, financial or business experience, as well as a willingness to serve on the board if elected.

This year’s Governance (Nominating) Committee consists of: Marilyn Sumter of Simpsonville, SC; Tracey Ellis of Easley, SC; and Eric Hunter of Easley, SC.

The following candidates were nominated:

  • Michael Cunningham
  • Joy Owens
  • Mike Strickland


Spero Financial’s members may also nominate by petition. To do this, each candidate must submit a petition signed by at least 1% of the membership (504 members). This petition must contain each member’s “printed name,” address and signature. A brief statement of qualifications and biographical information of the candidate, similar to those of the nominees listed here must accompany the petition. The resume portion of the statement must be 100 words or less. A petition nominee must also submit a signed certificate stating that he or she is willing to serve if elected.

Petitions must be received no later than March 7, 2024.

Please mail all information to:
Governance (Nominating) Committee
PO Box 10708
Greenville, SC 29603

Spero Financial’s bylaws provide specific requirements to be followed for board elections. In the event there is only one nominee for each position to be filled, a mail ballot will not be conducted and there will be no nominations from the floor at the Annual Meeting. Results of the election will be announced at the Annual Meeting on Tuesday, April 16, 2024.


This Year's Nominees

3 Open Positions

Michael Cunningham

Michael Cunningham (3-year term) is a native South Carolinian and a graduate of Clemson University, earning a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science with a minor in English. He also holds a Master’s degree in Public Administration. Michael has served in his role as the Vice President for Community Health Partnerships for AnMed since 2009. He also currently serves as the Chief Executive Officer for AnMed Cannon Hospital. Michael has volunteered on Spero Financial’s Board of Directors since 2021, previously serving on Anderson Federal Credit Union’s Board of Directors. He also serves on several other Boards including Anderson Free Clinic, Community Housing Resource (Chairman), PlaySafe, Salvation Army, Tri-County Tech Board of Visitors, and Welvista. Michael is married with two children.

Joy Owens

Joy Owens (3-year term) is a retired Human Resources Executive with over 32 years experience working with several companies in Spartanburg, SC. In her tenure, she actively participated in local, state, and national chapters of the Society of Human Resource Management. She was awarded “Director of the Year” for the Southeastern region and still holds her SHRM certification. Joy began volunteering for Spero Financial, formerly SC Telco Federal Credit Union, in 1991 as a member of the Membership and Supervisory Committees. In 1998, she began serving as a member of the Board of Directors. Joy resides in Inman, SC with her husband. They have two children, four grandchildren, and two great-grandchildren.

Mike Strickland

Mike Strickland (3-year term) is a graduate of the University of South Carolina and has an MBA in Business Management, as well as an Advanced Master Certificate in Project Management from The George Washington University. He retired from TPRC Broadband as the Chief Operating Officer in 2017. Mike is a founding member of the SC Midlands Chapter of Project Management Institute and served two terms as President. Mike is the current Chairman of Spero Financial's Board of Directors and has volunteered for over 25 years. He also volunteers with Lexington Medical Center Extended Care.

We can't wait to see you!

Please complete the below form to let us know you plan to attend.